About Civil Services Examination (IAS/KAS)

The Civil Services Examination (CSE) conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) & Jammu Kashmir Public Service Commission (JKPSC) is one of India’s /State’s prestigious and not surprisingly one of the toughest examinations.

It has three stages:

  • Preliminary Exam
  • Main Exam, and
  • Interview

Aspirants who clear all three stages of this exam (Prelims, Mains and Interview) become Civil Servants by joining the – IAS, IFS, IPS, IRS and more than 20 other services (UPSC) & Junior Scale of J&K Administrative Services, J&K Police (Gazetted) Service and J&K Accounts (Gazetted) Service (JKPSC).